Monday, November 20, 2017
Text Size

Application for Certificate of Title
Odometer Disclosure Statement
Duplicate Title Application
Title Warranty and Notarization Statement
WYDOT'S Vehicle Record and Privacy Disclosure Release Form - To obtain a Wyoming Title Record
Multipurpose Vehicle Information Checklist
MSRP Statement
WADA Sales and Use Tax Form
Rebuilt Salvage Decal
State Assigned VIN Form

Titles to be Required to Register New Boats, Snowmobiles and Small Utility Trailers

January 1, 2010, motorized watercraft, snowmobiles and small trailers will have to be titled in order to be registered after they are purchased or their ownership is transferred.
Download More Information Here

Boat Manufacturer Search Instructions

Fees for Titles:
$15.00 for a new or duplicate title
$10.00 for a VIN inspection, if applicable, payable to city police, state of WY or county based on who performed the inspection.
$20.00 to file a lien, if applicable

Buying or Selling a Vehicle
Buying or selling a vehicle and the process of transferring the title can be complicated. There are many variables associated with different types of transactions.

We have attempted to provide a fairly complete guide to the documentation you will need to complete this process, depending on the nature of the purchase or sale.

If the following Information does not answer all your questions, please feel free to call our office for additional help. Many of the necessary forms are available for your convenience.


Title Tips

Never buy a vehicle if the seller cannot show you the title, unless you can verify that the title is being held by a lien holder (bank, credit union, etc.).

When buying a vehicle, make sure all previous liens have been properly released. Various states have different requirements for releasing liens, so it is a good idea to call our office to find out about the requirements of the state from which the current title was issued.

You must be a Wyoming resident to obtain a Wyoming certificate of title.

On Wyoming titles, all sellers must sign in the presence of a notary. Even in cases where there are two names joined by or/and (example John or/and Jane Doe), both parties must sign the seller's block on the reverse side of the title and both signatures must be notarized.

If the title you receive is from any state other than Wyoming, you must have the vehicle identification number (VIN) inspected by a law enforcement officer (Check with various Police Departments, Big Horn County Sheriff's Office or Wyoming Highway Patrol). Be prepared to provide proof of ownership (dealer's invoice or bill of sale) and identification.

If the vehicle you purchase was manufactured within the past 10 years, you must have a conforming odometer statement signed by either the seller or the buyer.

When buying a vehicle from any licensed Wyoming auto dealer, you must be provided with a Wyoming Sales/Use Tax form. This form pertains to the sales tax due to the treasurer's office, and a copy must accompany your title work.

Wyoming law requires that when an out-of-state title carries a brand it must be placed on the new Wyoming title. In other words, if your out-of-state title has "salvage," "rebuilt," "flood," etc. typed on it, your Wyoming title will also have any such designation on it.

Always bring your identification with you when visiting the title office.

 

Titling New Vehicles from a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin (MSO)

In most cases, the dealer from whom you purchase the new vehicle will forward your paperwork to our office or to your bank or credit union if the vehicle is financed.

If you are coming to our office to transfer the MSO into your name, you will need the following:

• The original Manufacturer's Statement of Origin properly signed by the dealership.

• The Wyoming Sales/Use Tax form provided by the dealer.

• An odometer disclosure statement or the odometer disclosure portion of the MSO properly completed.

• An Affidavit of Vehicle Valuation - this document states the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the vehicle, not necessarily the price paid for the vehicle and is the basis on which the treasurer's office will compute the cost of license plates.

 

Titling Previously-Owned Vehicles with a Wyoming Title

To transfer the title of a previously-owned vehicle which is currently titled in the state of Wyoming, you will need the following:

• Original Wyoming title signed by all parties whose names appear on the face of the title. All parties must sign in front of a notary. Even if the names on the title appear as John and/or Jane Doe, both parties must sign as sellers on the title and have their signatures notarized. Any liens which appear on the front of the title, must be properly released by the county clerk's office OR you must be provided with a lien release or termination statement from the lien holder.

• The odometer disclosure on the title must be properly completed or a separate odometer disclosure statement must be presented. Check the odometer information on the title. It must conform to federal standards by reading as follows: I hereby state that the odometer now reads (no tenths) and to the best of my knowledge reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle. ... If the statement does not include the actual mileage of the vehicle (no tenths), a separate statement is required. This is not necessary if the model year is more than 10 years old.

• For any titles carrying a brand (flood, salvage, rebuilt), please refer to Wyoming State Statues 31-2-106 through 110.

• If the vehicle is purchased from a dealer, you must have a Wyoming Sales/Use tax form and present it with the above documents. This is not required if the vehicle was purchased from an individual. If purchased from a dealer, you may also be provided with a Dealer Reassignment Form, which the dealer may have you sign and have your signature notarized.

• If purchased from an individual or not provided with a Wyoming Dealer's Reassignment Form, at least one of the buyer's must sign the purchaser's application and have their signature notarized. This can be done in our office and a deputy clerk will provide the notary service, but you must present a driver's license or other form of identification at that time.

• If the dealer/lending agency has only put one name on the paperwork to transfer the title which was sent to the clerks office, the title must be made in the name provided. If you wish to add a name, you will need to get approval from the lending agency prior to the title being made.

 

Titling Previously-Owned Vehicles with an Out-of-State Title

Quite often, the title you receive from the seller may be one issued from a neighboring state such as Montana or Utah. Some states no longer require the seller's signatures to be notarized on the title. A good rule of thumb is if the title contains a place for a notary, have the seller's signatures notarized. You will need the following:

• Original title properly signed by the seller(s) and clear of all liens or a lien release/termination statement.

• The odometer disclosure on the title must be properly completed or a separate odometer disclosure statement must be presented. Check the odometer information on the title. It must conform to federal standards by reading as follows: I hereby state that the odometer now reads (no tenths) and to the best of my knowledge reflects the actual mileage of the vehicle . . . If the statement does not include the (no tenths), a separate statement is required. This is not necessary if the model year is more than 10 years old.

• For any titles carrying a brand (flood, salvage, rebuilt), please refer to Wyoming State Statues 31-2-106 through 110.

• If the vehicle is purchased from a Wyoming dealer, you must have a Wyoming Sales/Use tax form and present it with the above documents. This is not required if the vehicle was purchased from an individual or from an out-of-state dealer. If purchased from a dealer, you may also be provided with a Dealer Reassignment Form that the dealer may have you sign and have your signature notarized.

• If the vehicle is NOT purchased from a Wyoming dealer, a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection must be completed by a law enforcement officer (Check with various police departments, Big Horn County Sheriff's Office, Wyoming Highway Patrol). Be prepared to provide proof of ownership (dealer's invoice or bill of sale) and identification.

• If purchased from an individual or not provided with a Wyoming Dealer's Reassignment Form, at least one of the buyer's must sign the purchaser's application and have their signature notarized. This can be done in our office and a deputy clerk will provide the notary service, but you must present a driver's license or other form of identification at that time.


Obtaining a Duplicate Wyoming Title

Duplicate titles can be issued in the county they were made, and only when the original title has been lost, destroyed, or mutilated. All owners must sign an application for duplicate title and have their signatures notarized. The title will be issued following an 11-business day waiting period required by law.

If there is an unsatisfied lien, a statement of termination or the lien holder's permission to carry the lien forward on the duplicate title must accompany the application. Application can either be made by mail or in person. If you wish to apply by mail, send the properly completed, signed, and notarized application along with a fee of $15.00 to the clerk's office. You will be asked if you want the duplicate title sent certified, and if so, additional fees will need to be collected.

 

Obtaining a Wyoming Title for a Vehicle

When a Big Horn County resident purchases a vehicle out-of-state while on an extended vacation and needs to obtain a title and license plates for that vehicle, state law now allows a means to do so.

In addition to a properly signed title or MSO, an odometer disclosure statement, a purchaser's application, and an out-of-state vehicle identification number inspection is required.

This VIN inspection can be done by any law enforcement officer or a commissioned military officer.

 

Payment of Sales Tax

Sales tax on motor vehicles is due within 50 days of the date of purchase or penalties and interest will be assessed by the county treasurer. If for some reason you are unable to obtain the title to your vehicle within the 50 days, you can avoid penalties and interest by paying the sales tax. To do so, you will need to contact the treasurer's office.

The county clerk must have proof from the county treasurer that sales tax has been paid before a title can be released.

 

Off Road Vehicle (ORV) Requirements For Big Horn County

Wyoming State Parks
To legally operate an off-road recreational vehicle in Wyoming on public roadways, certain requirements must be met. These requirements also apply to roads within National Forests in Wyoming.

National Parks
For information about the policies or regulations to ride ORV’s in the National Park system, please contact the National Park Service Headquarters in Denver, CO at 303-969-2500.

How to Obtain A Sticker/Decal
A current list of selling agents for the ORV sticker can be found at http://wyotrails.state.wy.us.

Contact the Clerk's Office

County Clerk
Lori Smallwood

Address:
P.O. Box 31
Basin, WY 82410

Phone: 307-568-2357
Fax: 307-568-9375

E-Mails
Lori.Smallwood@bighorncountywy.gov