Thursday, November 23, 2017
Text Size


What is the Veteran's Exemption?

• The State of Wyoming Legislature budgets funding to assist Veterans of foreign wars in paying property taxes.

• The County Assessor’s Office administers the exemption based on statute and Department of Revenue Rules and Regulations.

• Each Veteran or widow of a qualifying veteran must appear in person at their local County Assessor’s office to complete the initial application

Veterans Application Form (PTD-100)

• The surviving spouse of a qualifying Veteran may be eligible to continue this exemption: they must reside in Wyoming and not remarry.

 

Who Qualifies?

• Veterans who are Wyoming residents for a minimum of three years preceding qualifying for the benefit.

• Veterans who have written documentation of honorable discharge (DD-214 or equivalent) from active duty military service.

• Qualifying dates per W.S. 39-11-105 (a) (xxiv) are:

12/07/1941 to 12/31/1946
06/27/1950 to 01/31/1955
02/28/1961 to 05/07/1975

OR

• Served during an armed conflict and received the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal (AFEM) or equivalent.

Qualified Medals for Wyoming Veteran ExemptionQualified Medals for Wyoming Veteran Exemption

• A disabled Veteran with a compensable service related disability certified by the Veterans administration.

Disabled Veteran FormDisabled Veteran Form

 

HOW CAN THE EXEMPTION BE USED?

• The exemption may be used on property tax and it reduces the assessed valuation by $3000 annually. The tax dollar amount varies depending on mill levy for tax district. Approximate amount $200.00. Eligible property must be owned or on contract to be owned by the Veteran and or Spouse as of January 1st.

The Veteran or the Veteran’s spouse MUST contact their local County Assessor’s office each year before the 4th Monday in May to renew their application.

• County fees for licensing a vehicle (not sales tax) may be reduced by $3000 ASSESSED dollars annually. More than one vehicle may qualify, not to exceed a total of $90.00 per year.

Title, registration, or expiration reminder showing the Veteran and/or spouse’s names is required prior to purchasing tags for exemption usage. Leased vehicles do not qualify.

Contact the County Assessor

Gina Anderson, County Assessor

Big Horn County Courthouse
420 W C St
PO Box 109
Basin, WY 82410

E-Mail:  gina.anderson@bighorncountywy.gov

Phone: (307) 568-2547
Fax: (307) 568-2013

Hours:
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Monday – Friday

STAFF:

Gay Cariveau - gay.cariveau@bighorncountywy.gov

Janet Evans -  janet.evans@bighorncountyw.gov

Laurie Mikus - laurie.mikus@bighorncountywy.gov

Dominic Kestner - dkestner@bighorncountywy.gov